Friend Feed 2.0?

picture-1

What is it?

Power.com, the URL says it all! All this muscle is a new site that launched today in the united states. (The site has been around in Asia for sometime now)  Power.com seems to be short for “Powerhouse” boasting a combination of multiple social networking sites into one simple log-in page. This allows you to check your accounts and see what your friends have also posted simultaneously at one convenient site. This sounds familiar, possibly like friend feed? As if my title didn’t give it away, power.com is very similar to Friendfeed.com, sorta. The difference is this, a single window displays your “Respectable” Facebook, “I just use it for music” Myspace”, “Comical” Hi5, and “Anywhere but the U.S.” MSN buddy list. Leaving you with a cornucopia of accounts on one site that allows for direct response to your friends through the appropriate client. The other nice thing about power.com is it allows you to view your pages as if it were in a normal web browser. Taking advantage of similar tab like buttons on top of the window, you can quickly swap between social pools, no showering before hand necessary.

Overall

Power.com is a social networking site on steroids, with ease of use, great design, and the fact that it just plains works. For just being out for a handful of hours now, I’m scared to see what they have up there sleeve in the post beta version. This however is only a somewhat upgraded version of Friendfeed.com, in no way can you replace your Friend Feed just yet. But I highly suggest you check this Juggernaut out!

My two cents

I have been using it all day, and found it very convenient at first. The colors, graphics, and design are well put together and very warm feeling. Sign up is a breeze, and logging on to my Facebook, and Myspace were easy. However as my use of my Facebook and Myspace account became more heavy. The window in which my profile was in seemed claustrophobic and cramped. There is a bright header that runs about your profile and to me crowds the window. This was a big enough problem for me to say “I’m not a fan,” however I kept my cool and made the decision to stick it out and keep using for at least a week before I quit it, I mean mom never liked a quitter.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment